Methodology in humanities

Here is a good example of a methodology

Here’s a good example of a methodology

According to my supervisor, “reading shit” is not an adequate methodology description.

I have struggled with describing the methodology for my work so far. Scientific methodologies are lovely and straightforward compared to those in the humanities. I even find creative methodologies easier to describe than my theoretical ones.

I’m sure there are others in the same boat, so here is a useful post from Pat Thompson using the metaphor of a party to get you thinking about how to approach your methodology chapter.

For those with more time, the University of South Australia has a resource site which runs down most major contemporary social theories in a straightforward way, and can help you get a grip who are the leading theorists in your area.

Have fun!

 

This entry was posted in General, Study, Theory and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Methodology in humanities

  1. Otora Agbor says:

    I am currently on my Ph.D thesis and I intend to adopt the interdisciplinary approach in my methodology chapter but I am at the sametime incapacitated on what exactly to include. For avoidance of doubt, my thesis is on “Challenges of ECOWAS Integration Processes across International Boundaries in West Africa.” I need your expert assistance please.

  2. SeattleBueller says:

    Wow, thank you!! I am writing a dissertation about the intersection of water conservation, hydrology, and applied theology (the ‘ideas/words about God & the world as they are actually lived/practiced). Further, much of my work is based on sociology, specifically social change theory, which overlaps with anthropology and history quite a bit.
    Really hard because each of these fields has its own methods, and my field (Ecotheology) has many accepted methodologies. To make it harder, in theology in general, we rarely have sections where we explicitly state ‘methodology’, though it has become expected to state one’s ‘philosophical starting points.’

  3. Anonymous says:

    Nicely put! This post has been very useful

  4. swalkerc says:

    Thanks! I was just trying to figure out this exact thing!

  5. Pingback: Popular Humanities, Edutainment, and Methodology as Spectacle | The New Humanities: English 5850

What do you think?

