WIP days and 3MT talks?

One day I might be good enough to deliver a fantastic talk like this one by Ken Robinson on Creativity

One day I might be good enough to deliver a fantastic talk like this one by Ken Robinson on Creativity

For those of you with their WIP day coming up, or for those getting ready for their 3 minute thesis presentations, here is a handy post from The Thesis Whisperer (again) – Four Ways to Rock Your Next Talk.

The only thing I would add is: remember to breathe. I tend to rush when I get nervous, and I have to keep telling myself “slow it down and breathe”. The less deep breaths I take, the faster my voice gets shaky and the more nervous I get.

Also, remember you do not have to fit everything you know into your talk – just a few interesting and engaging aspects of your thesis usually works best. When practicing your talk, make sure it is short enough so you don’t have to deliver it at a cracking pace – the more you try to fit in the harder it is to relax.

Check out this great TED talk for an example of pacing your delivery.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

